State certifies collective bargaining unit for Miami University faculty after vote

After more than a year of organizing, Miami University faculty have officially unionized.

Despite how individuals may have voted, now all faculty are represented in the union. That’s more than 800 members, including tenured and tenure-track faculty and teaching professors, clinical faculty and lecturers with longer-term contracts.

Miami is the largest employer in Butler County, with approximately 3,720 full- and part-time employees. Of Ohio’s 14 other four-year public universities, 11 have collective bargaining agreements with faculty, including the University of Cincinnati and now Miami.

Read more from


Most Popular