Names in the news

January 8, 2019

Babson College has named Stephen Spinelli Jr., a cofounder of Jiffy Lube International, as the college’s 14th president. He will replace outgoing president, Kerry Healey, who steps down at the end of the academic year. …Scott Ralls, the former president of North Carolina’s community college system, was named the next president of Wake Tech. Ralls, currently the president of Northern Virginia Community College, will assume the job May 1. He succeeds Stephen Scott, who retired after 15 years leading Wake Tech. …The University of Minnesota Board of Regents unanimously approved a five-year contract for Joan Gabel to be the university’s 17th president. Gabel will be the first woman to lead the university. …Hope College has selected an innovative leader from outside higher education as its 14th president. Matthew A. Scogin, who is chief administrative officer at the global financial advisory firm of Perella Weinberg Partners in New York City will assume office on July 1, 2019. …Scott Alsobrooks has been named president of East Mississippi Community College. Alsobrooks, the vice president of Economic and Community Development at Pearl River Community College, will assume the post early in the spring term. …Brian McGee was named Quincy University’s 24th president. McGee will officially assume the presidency on July 1, 2019, succeeding Phil Conover, who will be retiring. Conover has served as president since May 2017. …Marsha Krotseng, who was named Bluefield State College’s first female president in 2012, is stepping down from the presidency. Krotseng had said she wanted to resign from the role to pursue other opportunities outside of the college. … Savannah State University President Cheryl Dozier, who has been grappling with recent enrollment and budget declines, is retiring at the end of June, officials announced Friday. Dozier has been president of the university since 2011, after working the prior 17 years as an administrator at the University of Georgia. …Charles L. Currie, former president of Wheeling Jesuit University has passed away after a recent illness. He was 88-years-old. Currie was the president at Wheeling Jesuit from 1972-1982. Most recently he served as president of the AJCU from 1997 until 2011. …Joseph Champagne, the third person to serve as president of Oakland University, has died at the age of 80. From 1981 to 1991, Champagne was a professor of management at the university as well as its president. …The man who spearheaded Athens Technical College’s transition from a technical school into an accredited college has died. Kenneth C. Easom, who retired in 2002 after nearly 33 years as president in 1985, was 74. …Former Stephen F. Austin State University President Baker Pattillo has passed away. Pattillo had retired last fall for health reasons. He was 75.