Smokers on campus are now facing citations instead of warnings at the University of Arkansas.
When the smoking ban was first introduced in August 2010, campus police focused on issuing warnings instead of handing out citations, which are $100 to $500, according to state law.
In 2008, the University of Arkansas adopted a voluntary tobacco-free policy on campus. The state law banning smoking on college campuses anywhere in Arkansas went into effect on August 1, 2010.
The University of Arkansas Police Department began issuing some citations in the spring of 2012, according to Lt. Gary Crain. Now, police are giving out fewer warnings and writing more citations.
Read more »